breeding

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by pekinduck<3er, Jan 22, 2011.

1. pekinduck<3er

pekinduck<3er Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi im a newbie to ducks breeding can you tell me what to do if something goes wrong or any thing to know and about their breeding habits? idk my ducks are starting

2. pekinduck<3er

anyone??????

3. PlumTuckered

PlumTuckered Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2007
    Arkansas
    Do you have any specific questions? Can you also give a bit of info on your ducks, how old they are, breeds etc? I think you'll get answers a lot quicker if you post this info.

Michelle

4. pekinduck<3er

thnx well they are 4 months old.

they are cayugas.

they are just now starting to breed in their pool now and im worried about it!

i have two male and female.

QUESTIONS:

1. When will my hen lay?

2. When she lays her first batch will they may be fertile or will take a awhile till she is fully mature how long?

3. What is better her incubation or me taking them and incubating them?

4. If i take them and when there about to hatch i put them under her and,? will she still take them?

5. What could go wrong when they breed?

6. Will they do it in the pool or in the coop?

7. Will they do it infront of me? (eeeww i hope not) [​IMG]

THNX help me!! [​IMG]

Cara

5. StevenW.

StevenW. Lovin' My Quackers!

Oct 7, 2010
    Central, Illinois
    First get rid of the extra cayuga male right away!!
    They will both try to breed her and she will end up getting killed by both of them.

6. pekinduck<3er

i gave him to my friend now what?? answere my questions anyone

7. Quote:He's right! Ducks you usually shouldn't have more than one drake unless you have at least five or six hens.
    1. A hen will usually start laying at 20 to 24 weeks depending on if there is enough hours of natural daylignt to support it.
    2. The first eggs may or may not be fertile, usually best to wait a few weeks to start hatching.