Breeds question--am I being taken??

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by groleau6, Feb 18, 2014.

1. groleau6

groleau6 Out Of The Brooder

Feb 3, 2014
    Alabama
    I am still learning the different breeds, the basics, and the how to of chickens. Today, I was offered some Frilkies, Frizzles, and Sizzles. I was told they are a hybred for better quality. I can't really find much information on them, but 45 dollars a pullet seems a bit much for me. Can anyone shed some light one these for me, because I thought they just might be barnyard mutts.

2. granny hatchet

granny hatchet Tastes like chicken Premium Member

Sep 26, 2013
    madison Indiana
    frizzles are chickens that have feathers that are described as wind swept, as if they walked in a storm backwards. so they curl up and towards the head. sizzles are silkies that do the same thing. i dont think they are worth that much but they do cost more then your average chicken. it depends on if they are show or what. are they worth it? depends on how bad you want them.

3. maran man

maran man Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 24, 2012
    They are fancy breeds the frizzle is a genetic mutation that can not be bred together and sizzle is a silkie frizzle cross its very broody show breed. Never heard of a frilkies so idk and no I wouldn't pay that much myself unless the sizzles where perfect quality. Can u get pics?

4. mrs1885

mrs1885 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2013
    Van Buren Co, TN
    I agree with Granny Hatchet. I personally wouldn't pay that much for them. They're cute............but 45 bucks each? For something cute to look at that might give you a few eggs a week, I'd say it's over priced. I personally like Seramas and Sebrights for pet chickens, especially silver sebrights. I like them A LOT. But I still wouldn't pay that kind of money for them.

5. granny hatchet

Sep 26, 2013
    madison Indiana