Breeds?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Miss Chicken, Apr 19, 2008.

1. Miss Chicken

Miss Chicken Out Of The Brooder

Apr 19, 2008
    I'm VERY new to having chickens. Can anyone tell me the breeds of these little chicks? All I know is that they are Bantams.

Also, at what age can I determine gender?

Thanks!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. fancyfowl4ever

fancyfowl4ever Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2008
    Cranbrook, BC, Canada
    1. Black cochin - should be sexable with aprox 4-6 weeks of age
    2. White silkie - sexable at around 2 - 3 months(maybe later, silkies can be very tricky)
    3. Old english is my guess, what type of comb does it have, I think I see a straight comb(like the cochin) - sexable at aprox 4-6 weeks as well

So cute, I can't wait for my chickies I get from Ideal next month(I hope they all make it).

Last edited: Apr 19, 2008
  3. Miss Chicken

Apr 19, 2008
    Here are a couple more photos of Chick #3. Looks to me to have the same comb type as the Black Cochin.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. Miss Chicken

Apr 19, 2008
    What will I see seeing or looking for when they get to be 4-6 weeks old to determine gender? Remember I'm new to this [​IMG].

Also, I'm sure this isn't the right area to post this but the little one (Chick #3) is having some issues with his/her vent area. It is clear/open and I'm checking it often but the feces are wet and getting stuck to the lower tail area.

5. fancyfowl4ever

Mar 17, 2008
    Cranbrook, BC, Canada
    I am still putting my money on old english game with chick#3.