1. Crazyoop

Crazyoop New Egg

Apr 24, 2009
    St Helens, UK
    Is it a bad idea to build a coop out of brick? I am new to this chicken lark and i have become paranoid about Lice, flees, Red mites or any other creepy crawly that might take a fancy to my girls while their in their coop,
    Seeing that timber seems to be the favourite hiding place for all things crawly could i use bricks and mortar? Does anybody have any suggestions

2. sherrydeanne

sherrydeanne Chillin' With My Peeps

I see absolutely no reason why you couldn't. You're going to have to plan it out well ahead of time, since it's easier to saw through lumber than brick [​IMG] Make sure you plan in plenty of ventilation.

3. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    Brick is not only expensive to use as a structural material, but requires a good bit of know-how and experience to make SAFE walls more than about 2' tall. Also, the rough surfaces could probably harbor pests at least as well as a nice smooth *plywood* coop interior. Also also, brick has high thermal inertia and will get hot by the end of the day and stay hot well into the night, in summer, and be a very cold material in winter.

Thus I would strongly suggest you not try building a brick coop.

What is wrong with a plain old wooden coop, with a plywood interior, like everyone else has? [​IMG] They WORK. With good animal husbandry you will not have a pest problem -- and with poor animal husbandry you'll have a problem even with a coop built of any other material.

Honest, it is not a big deal. Deep breath [​IMG]

Good luck, have fun,

Pat

4. flopshot

flopshot Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2009
    Quote:no, you would however need to clearly annunciate when speaking of your "brick chic house". [​IMG]
    really, if i had the skills i would have made mine to match the brick on our house. i love consistancy. it's a little tougher to attach things but if you plan it out you should be fine.