bright yellow fatty deposit?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by fitzy, Oct 20, 2009.

1. fitzy

fitzy Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2009
    manhattan, ks
    So, I'm relatively new to processing my own chickens for food...the four I cut up this morning make 7 total that i've cut up myself. Rather than use the scald,pluck, remove guts kinda process i've decided it's easier for me to just skin them, cut off the meat and then remove the innards from the carcass in order to save the rib/back for stock.

On one of the birds i was skinning this morning i noticed a bright yellow (mustard colored) fatty deposit on one of the legs but not the other. As i'm inexperienced at this point i decided the safe thing to do was remove that leg and keep the rest of the chicken....now i'm wondering if i wasted a leg or contaminated the other 3 birds when i put the parts from this one in the same pot to brine?

Has anyone seen this before and is it normal?

2. kingmt

kingmt Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    Mason WV
    I'm not sure what to tell you on that. I would think it was anything that would hurt the meat from what you said but I'm not sure. Maybe a picture would help if the parts aren't long gone.

3. Buster52

Buster52 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 28, 2009
    Geronimo Oklahoma
    I saw it on the two White Rocks I butchered this weekend. I assumed it was because they were just fat, old birds.

4. jaku

jaku Chillin' With My Peeps

If it was only on one leg of one bird, I'd almost lean toward a healed injury??

5. seramas

seramas Out Of The Brooder

Oct 11, 2009