Bring food and water out of the coop during the day?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Noirchats, Dec 23, 2012.

1. Noirchats

Noirchats Out Of The Brooder

Dec 7, 2012
    Central Florida
    Hi. My neighbor told me to bring their feeder and water dispensers out into the yard during the day for easier access. my chickens havent been laying since i got them. could the fact that i take every reason for them to really go back to their coop during the day away affecting the way they are laying? is it totally necessary to put their food and water out in the yard every morning? would putting it back in there after 2 weeks confuse them? sorry if these questions seem ridiculous, I'm a total newb.

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    The only ridiculous question is the one not asked.

Quit worrying. Some of us feed in the coop only, some outside only, some have feed and water both places. Some take it up at night or move it during the day. There is no right or wrong way. It's just the way that you do it for whatever your reasons are.

This will not affect whether they lay or not in any way.

3. Noirchats

Dec 7, 2012
    Central Florida
    thanks so much, i really appreciate it. I'll just keep doing what I'm doing and be patient :)

4. laughingdog52

laughingdog52 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 5, 2011
    Eastern Oregon
    I have had to move food and water around to either keep the water from freezing or the food from getting blown away, but they always seem to find it! I now have water in the coop and outside. I added a heat lamp and the girls seem to love it. I see them just standing under it warming up. Laying has been pretty good.

5. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    They will go in the coop to eat and drink if you leave them in the coop, I promise you. I never move mine out of the coop. Personal choice.

6. blondiebee181

blondiebee181 Chillin' With My Peeps