1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Broilers ??????'s

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by newchickenmomma, Jan 13, 2007.

1. newchickenmomma

newchickenmomma Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 11, 2007
    Frankford, NJ
    hey all, I have a few questions about getting broiler birds.

1. where is the best place to get them?
    2. what kind of meat bird is best?
    3. how long does it take to raise them and on what?
    4. what is the easiest way to kill and clean/butcher them?
    5. also if you were going to sell them to people, how much would you sell them for?

I was thinking about getting some, and some people at my dh's job would like some, and I am clueless, i have never done it before so any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks all

Dawn ~NJ~

2. Nifty-Chicken

Nifty-Chicken Administrator Staff Member

Dec 26, 2006
    California - SF East Bay
    Great questions! I've moved this to meat birds so you'll hopefully get a good answer!

3. dlhunicorn

dlhunicorn Human Encyclopedia

Jan 11, 2007
  4. ChrisnTiff

ChrisnTiff Out Of The Brooder

Jan 11, 2007
    Crane, Missouri
    Hey Dawn there is a wonderful no frills hatchery in Quakertown, Pa. They only sell a few utility breeds of chickens and one is the cornish cross. They are very inexpensive and a really good quality bird. Depending where you are in Nj you may even be able to pick-up. www.moyerschicks.com

These cornish x usually grow out in about 6 to 8 weeks depending on how big you want them. We let ours free range so it takes a bit longer because they get plenty of exercise and we think this makes for a happier and tastier bird.

Good luck,

Chris

Last edited: Jan 14, 2007
  5. newchickenmomma

Jan 11, 2007
    Frankford, NJ
    thanks everyone so much

6. newchickenmomma

Jan 11, 2007