Broken, smelly, fertile eggs--What's happening?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by KatGold, Jun 6, 2011.

1. KatGold

KatGold Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2011
    Eew. That subject line just about says it all. Nonetheless, I'm going to bend your ear here.

Okay, so I bought fertile eggs (including black copper marans which I was very excited about) for my broody hen. We are on Day 11.

About four hours ago, I checked in on her and found it to be a little smelly. I didn't know if this was to be expected or not (is it?). I left her alone.

Just now I noticed she was off the nest so I looked in. I found three broken eggs. It was quite smelly. The insides were obviously exposed. They were filled with gray goo. There seemed to be nothing that was even slightly formed into a body. FYI, it was 101 degrees today. (Did I mention it was smelly?)

What the heck? I've never done this before and am looking for some insight.

Is it possible that they were just bad so she broke them? I guess it's possible the hens were fighting over the nest box (there are two others but this is the favorite box) and they were broken accidentally--but what explains the bad smell and gray goo?

I was so sad because I've already lost three. One was broken in the first week (I think in a skirmish in the box) and two just vanished about a week ago. No sign of anything suspicious, just gone.

The box was pretty gross and had crud practically glued to the bottom. I am soaking it now and have rinsed off the remaining eggs in warm water and put them in the incubator. I probably shouldn't have done either, but I couldn't put them back in that yucky box and the hen won't lay on them anywhere else (I've tried on other days just so they wouldn't fight over that next box). And I just had to rinse them as they were sort of covered in that gray goo.