Brooder "flooring"?

mudhen

confidently clueless
13 Years
Jan 15, 2007
Shepherdstown, WV
When using a brooder box, what's the best for the 'flooring'?
I've read that paper towel is good to keep the chicks from getting splayed legs. It seems to make sense, but I wondered if there were any other suggestions?
A (non-chicken owning) friend suggested a suspended wire mesh to help reduce their walking on droppings.
I, of course, think this would hurt their little feet. (OK, roll your eyes at me, but in my defense, I am a newbie...)
big_smile.png

The best flooring is the rubber maid -- liner it is non-slip and very easy to clean - It prevents the chicks from sliding and can be bought at any dollar store.

Shavings (not cedar) is usually the bedding of choice. You can put paper towels over it the first few days, then take the towels away after they learn what there food is. Paper towels by themselves are too slippery.

Rubber maid non-slip mats sound like a good idea. You could keep one in the brooder and have another to replace it while the first is drying out from washing...

I use a rubber maid container 14''x24''x16'' with shaving on the floor. I use a light bulb for heat. I keep this in my basement until the smell moves me to the shed.
Ray

Thanks Tricia,
I had no idea. I hope you don't mind, but I added this to your other thread about toxic foods.
It would be a good education for some of us new to chickens.

I hope resurrecting ancient threads is allowed :)

I've been raising Silkies until recently and since they are so small, a big Rubbermaid box has been sufficient for a dozen chicks.

This time I'm hatching standard breed chickens and good lord they have grown huge overnight! They aren't ready to go outside yet, but their Rubbermaid box is way too small for 3 week old chicks and I've been struggling to find an acceptable alternative.