BROODER/NEWBIE QUESTION

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by rockmissjess, Mar 3, 2014.

1. rockmissjess

rockmissjess Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 23, 2014
    Prescott Area, Arizona
    [​IMG]So my chicks will be shipped in 7 days... And i have some questions about having the brooder...(IM A NEWBIE TO CHICKENS)

[​IMG]
    So Im using this Tough box 27 gallon storage tote i got from costco to hold the 5 chicks i ordered. The dimensions are about 31″ L x 20″ D x 15″H. I have the pine bedding, the lamp, the chick feeder and waterer, (gonna make a chick roost using lincon logs) starter food, the little enzyme packets, grogel....I also have a baby gate im going to put over the top of it. (for those jumping chicks)

MY QUESTION IS:
    How long will/can the five chicks stay in there for before needing bigger quarters?

I just ordered them a chicken coop which will be here by friday
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

But i need to seal it and reenforce it and make sure its predator proof before they can be put in it... so i suppose ill be on a time crunch... depending on how long they can stay in the brooder for.. any help and advice as im a first timer would be greatly appreciated. TY!
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 3, 2014
  2. lazy gardener

lazy gardener True BYC Addict

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE
    I'm guessing that you'll do well to get 3 weeks out of it. Do you have small children or pets that would bother the chicks? Are you brooding them in the house. If the answers are no and yes, you could get a large box, or several large boxes to give them more room. Good luck, enjoy.

3. rockmissjess

Jan 23, 2014
    Prescott Area, Arizona
    YES, my kids are 4, 6 & almost 8....
    NO, no pets.
    YES, they will be in the house on my fireplace... (ITS HUGE)