Brooder size.

n3kms

Songster
9 Years
Jun 28, 2010
Middle Tennessee
How many Australorp chicks can you raise in a 44"x44"x24"h brooder for the entire time they need a brooder?
jumpy.gif

Hi! I am pretty new at this too but I just moved my 5 week old chicks out of a brooder that allowed them 2/3 of a sq ft each and your 12 chicks would have above 1 sq ft each in your space. My brooder was getting a little crowded the last few days but I had no picking or cannabalism problems. They are all happy and healthy in their new home.

Good luck with your venture, I was not prepared to like my chicks as much as I do, they become addictive! Beware!
yippiechickie.gif

That would give you around 13 total sqft. I'm not an expert, but from everything I have read you really want 2 sqft/chick so I don't think you would want more than 6-7 in that brooder long term. Also, from recent experience, you may want to put some type of "lid" on the brooder. Our guys are just over 4 weeks old and they can easily fly the coop. Here is picture of our brooder with the lid that we could flip down when the got big enough to plan their great escape. It has worked out great.

59376_chicks_2.jpg

I have read .3 sq. ft. for the first few weeks, then .6 until 8 weeks old. Two sq. ft. just seems too high and it's a number some people place on coop square footage. To brood 10 chicks you would need 20 sq. ft. I brooded 15 Cornish x's for three weeks in a large rubber-maid tote.

They grow REALLY FAST, so I would say no more than 10. But, with it being Summer, you may be able to put them out earlier depending on your climate and your chicken house. We usually keep ours in the brooder for 6 weeks, but this time of year we do more like 4 weeks and put them in their house with a light for warmth when needed.

Enjoy your babies!
jumpy.gif

Last edited:
Thanks for the info.