Brooder Temp Question

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Gypsy Blue, Mar 20, 2013.

1. Gypsy Blue

Gypsy Blue Out Of The Brooder

Mar 19, 2013
    Mexico, NY
    Ok, so I'm new at the chicken addiction and I have 18 lovely little fuzzy butts in the brooder ranging from about 5 days old to 11 days old. I did the "move the light until they are comfy thing" and now I have active little girls running all over then doing their cute little narcoleptic thing falling asleep where they stand. Normal chicky stuff. Well i put a thermometer in there just to see what the temp is and it's reading 80! Is this ok? I want to say yes as none of my chicks are acting lethargic or cuddling right under the lamp. But I guess i want to know if I'm inadvertanly causing harm. Probably being a "momma hen" and WAY overthinking this but I guess some reassurance would help lol... [​IMG]

2. cafarmgirl

cafarmgirl Overrun With Chickens

If they are acting normal and not huddling or chirping loudly, they are probably fine. That's pretty close to the right temp for the older ones anyway. Just watch them, if the younger ones seem like they are chilly you can always lower it a bit to get it a little warmer.

Have fun with them, they outgrow that fuzzy golf ball shaped stage so quickly! I'm very envious, I raised my most recent batch last fall, my coops are full, so no babies for me this spring!

3. elmtree

elmtree Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2013
    Derry,NH