1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Brooding ducks in cold weather... HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Dylon, Nov 12, 2013.

1. Dylon

Dylon Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 5, 2013
    Brewton, AL
    I ordered some ducklings today. I know the season isn't ideal, but one thing lead to another and I had to delay buying them. This is my first time brooding ducks. I have done quail and chickens though.

- They will be started out in a barn. With heat lamp in a storage bin.

- I will feed them a general poultry starter that isn't medicated.

- I plan to use wood shavings as a bedding

I know they will grow out of this set up quickly. So wanted to put them in a little pen behind the barn. It is covered with a roof and is fenced in. They will be in a pen, inside this enclosure. I will still be able to give them a heat lamp and maybe spread some hay on the ground.

This is my plan. Give me suggestions. All comments are welcome.

My main concern is that it is starting to get cold. It never really gets colder than 45 at this time of year in south Alabama. That's why I will leave the light. When do you think they won't need it???

2. erinszoo

erinszoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2011
    North Central Oklahoma
    When they start getting feathers they'll be fine. We have a 7 week old that is outside full time already in northern oklahoma.

We don't advocate using woodchips in the brooder as they will eat everything and the wood chips can impact. We use straw. Also they won't need starter food for more than a couple of weeks. Then you can drop the protein level.

1 person likes this.
  3. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Before moving them outside they should be fully feathered.

1 person likes this.