Broody Battle

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by stephyg, Nov 5, 2013.

1. stephyg

stephyg New Egg

May 19, 2013
    Brooksville, Fl
    I have a few issues all rolled into one and I'm very new to this whole chicken owning thing so here it goes.
    The pecking order on my mini farm is as follows:
    Sage- leghorn rooster
    Cogburn- jersey giant rooster
    Rosemary- buff hen
    Basil- jersey giant hen
    Rue- some kind of bantam hen

Rue has recently become broody and decided to sit on four of her eggs. 2 days into Rue sitting on them Basil decided that they were her eggs now and kicked Rue out of the nesting box. Neither hen is laying eggs now and Rue keeps trying to get her eggs back but Basil won't let her. We are 5 days into the broody battle and neither hen wants to give up. Rue will not get her eggs back unless Basil allows it because Rue is at the bottom of the pecking order and Basil being a jersey giant is about 2 and a half times her size. So...
    1. Will Rue eventually stop trying to get her eggs back?
    2. If she doesn't stop will there be an issue when the babies hatch?
    3. I do not want to separate Basil from the flock because when they finally do hatch the little bantams will have a big momma to help them into the flock. Is this a good idea? The nest box is portable if that helps.
    4. Rosemary is a very aggressive queen and gets whatever she wants from the others ALWAYS. Should I be concerned that Basil won't be able to protect the chicks from her? Don't get me wrong Rosemary is the sweetest hen but if she wants something or she has an issue there is NO stopping her.
    5. This is probably a really silly question. Are the eggs even fertile? Rue's mate is Sage the leghorn but he is not bantam.
    6. If the eggs are fertile will there be an issue with the mom being bantam and the dad being regular? Will the egg be to small?

Thank you for reading any help and advise is greatly appreciated!

2. JessesGirl