1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Broody buff orpington

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by marc81, May 19, 2011.

1. marc81

marc81 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 3, 2009
    Layton
    I have had a buff orpington hen go broody and has been on eggs for over a week now, but they are not fertile. I was wondering if I put some fertile eggs under her next week when I got them if you think that she would hatch them out? never had orpingtons before dont know what to expect.

2. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

Take the below advice with a grain of salt, as I am no expert on this, lol.

I have only had two broody hens before, and let one hatch out eggs. But I do have BOs.

My opinion is that if she has stuck with it for a week, she just might stay. The best situation is of course if you have an incubator you can place them in if she gets off the nest.

Once the eggs start hatching, place food and water there so that she doesn't have to get off the nest to eat and drink. She will need to teach the little ones to eat and drink without leaving the other hatching eggs.

She will still leave to poo once a day but the babies need to eat and drink.

Don't move her nest until the babies hatch if you want her somewhere else (if you do, she might get off the nest). The newly hatched babies can survive without food or water for a maximum of a couple days (I don't recommend this though) and I would go ahead and move them after the first one hatches if the food and water is really far away.

This part is tricky and take my advice with a grain of salt. I moved my girl right before the eggs hatched and it worked well. It was really cold in the coop and the nest box was breezy. I didn't want my chicks hatching there.