Broody Ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by TLiv17, Jan 15, 2017.

1. TLiv17

TLiv17 Just Hatched

Jan 15, 2017
    I'm new to this site and i have a questions about my ducks. My one female Muscovy mix has been sitting on her nest more than she's been going out of the coop the past couple days. I didn't think anything of it as it's been negative temperatures lately, and i thought she was only in the coop because the cold. Earlier today she got a little aggressive with me while i went to pet her while she was sitting on it so i started to question what she was doing. She has made a pretty decent nest in the coop, and has 7-8 eggs in the nest that she's sitting on. I read that when a duck goes broody, their chest becomes really warm, which hers is, but i was thinking that's just because she's laying on straw and her body temp is warming her chest up. This is my first year with ducks, and my other females have never gone broody, so i wanted some expert opinions lol. Thank you. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi and [​IMG]! Sounds like you have a broody on your hands, based on her behavior. Muscovy ducks are known to go broody frequently (and mine sure did). She'll try to hatch that clutch if you let her.

3. TLiv17

TLiv17 Just Hatched

Jan 15, 2017
    in your opinion, what should i do? is it a bad time to let her hatch the eggs right now or should i let her? i don't want to stress her out in any way. i was thinking maybe mark the ones she has right now and take all the ones she lays after today. is that a bad idea? if she was to hatch them, i'd take them away and bring them inside where they can we warm and safe.

4. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps