Broody hatching eggs soon...couple of questions...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by LittleBoPeep1, Jan 15, 2018.

1. LittleBoPeep1

LittleBoPeep1 Songster

Mar 12, 2015
    This is my first time hatching eggs and I was just wondering if my hen could hatch her eggs in the nesting box she is in right now that is about 12 by 12 inches and about 3ft off the ground (it has a door so I could close her in) or if I should move her to a dog kennel that I could put in the coop before the hatch.

On a different note, the two eggs she was sitting on were set about 24 hours apart. Is that ok or should I give one of the eggs to another broody that I have so the chicks hatch separately.

Thanks for the help!

2. Pork Pie

Pork Pie Flockwit

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    If you try and move her, it could well break her broody instincts. I'd leave her (but I would not close her in)... Once the chicks hatch you can move them to ground level.

I'd be inclined to leave both eggs with one broody. Having two hens with new chicks can sometimes be a bit tricky. In addition, the chicks will likely do better together, rather than being kept separate (but it's not a deal-breaker).

These links may be interesting:

http://www.backyardchickens.com/t/4...ody-hen-hatch-a-long-and-informational-thread

http://www.backyardchickens.com/t/496101/broody-hen-thread

http://www.backyardchickens.com/a/guide-to-letting-broody-hens-hatch-and-raise-chicks

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Free Ranging

Feb 2, 2009
    Southeast Louisiana
    I’ve seen a hen get her chicks out of a ten feet high hay loft, she said jump and they did. They bounced up and ran to her. I’ve had a lot of hens hatch in a nest three feet above the coop floor. They don’t have trouble getting the chicks down.