Broody hen and heat lamp

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by texgardengal, Nov 24, 2013.

1. texgardengal

texgardengal Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 23, 2013
    Help!! I'm new to all this and my hen became broody. I thought she was sick. I have two hens and two roosters and they are a happy flock. When one of my girls stayed in the nesting box at night instead of roosting and looked....sick...not moving or coming out to eat. Anyway, I finally realized she was broody. We are having some really cold weather here and since she can't snuggle up to the other birds I added a red heat bulb to warm up the coop a bit. Its Enclosed but a bit drafty with only a heavy canvas tarp covering the door in the winter. Anyway, the light is making my roosters crow all night. Will this disrupt my hen, cause problem for any of them because of not sleeping.. Anyone have any experience with hens laying or setting in cold weather??

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    The hen doesn't need heat and, as you've found, the birds need a dark period. I don't know where you are or what you think cold is but I have a couple broody hens now with chicks and it's getting into the single digits tonight.
    The nest box should be enclosed enough to give her all the protection she needs.
    Is she sitting on fertile eggs?
    Just make sure she has nutritious feed and fresh water available for her daily stretch.
    She'll get up once a day for a half hour to an hour depending on ambient temps, defecate, eat, drink and stretch. Then back onto the nest and go into a trance till the next day.

If you think she's cold, slide your hand under her wing - it's over 100 degrees under there.

3. texgardengal

Nov 23, 2013