Broody Hen cross post

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by glorianel5, Jul 5, 2011.

1. glorianel5

glorianel5 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 7, 2010
    I have a broody hen and she has been sitting for a very long time. First set of
    eggs did not hatch not a single one of them. They were fertile but nothing
    happened. I candled the first set and knew that they were not developing so I
    got on it an ordered some more online.
    Fast forward to now approximately 19 days into her sitting. Yesterday when she
    came out, early when it was cool, to poop and drink some water I found one egg
    cracked under the bunch. No worries for me though it was a dud nothing but yoke
    and white. Today she comes out to poop and drink and there is another broken egg
    this one had a dead peeper in it.
    I just felt so bad, for her, for me, for all of us.
    Long winded opening to my question, is this normal? This is my first time with a
    broody hen.
    How long after 21 days should I let her sit? If she hatches 1 or more should I
    then candle the rest and take them away if they are not viable and or alive?
    Once she hatches some will she stop sitting on the rest? does she know if her
    eggs are viable or not?
    thanks for your help
    jen
    ps I just found a cracked shell with membrane intact with a dead peeper inside no movement no nothing
    ah help please

2. Niss

Niss Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2011
    I am a first timer too, so I do not have advice. I am sorry about your problems, and will follow this thread incase I can learn something about my situation since my gal has lodt half her eggs and at day 21 nothing has hatched.

3. tinychicky

tinychicky Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2010
    Hollis, New Hampshire