Broody hen hatching question

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by spowell, Sep 25, 2011.

1. spowell

spowell Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2011
    Rocky Point, NC
    I have a silkie hen that went broody during Labor Day weekend. She had 2 eggs on monday. She stole one egg a day for the next 4 days. So she had a staggered hatch. My question is, should I pick up the babies as they hatch and give them all back when they are all done? [​IMG]

2. mama dixie

mama dixie Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2011
    I dont think so, I am a newbie at this but why are you thinking you should take the babies? are they eating and drinking and do they just go back and sit under mom while she is on the nest? I think they are fine, I would worry if you take them she might not welcome them back. anyone else have any feed back?

3. needlefrau

needlefrau Out Of The Brooder

Mar 19, 2009
    SW Washington
    Trust the hen to know what she is doing. Mother Nature has been at this business a great deal longer than we have.

4. spowell

spowell Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2011
    Rocky Point, NC
    I was afraid she would abandon the rest of the eggs.

5. mama dixie

mama dixie Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 11, 2011