Broody hen & I'm new to all this!

somissemilyy

Songster
9 Years
Jun 5, 2010
Coldwater, MS
Okay so I've been keeping chickens for about 2/3 years now, but I've never had a chicken go THIS broody! Buffing at me, making the "dinosaur" noise I call it, sitting at night.. So my mom and I thought we would experience with it. We have her sitting on 5 eggs, & we have them marked. She's been sitting for about 4 days now I guess. I need all you experienced folks to give me some advice on what I should do and what I shouldn't do! Thanks! :) xx

Make sure that the nest isn't so high off the ground that baby chicks can't get in and out of the nest. Make sure she's somewhere the rest of the flock can't get into the nest. Make sure she has food and water near, but not actually in the nest. On night 7, candle the eggs to make sure they are developing properly. Discard ones that aren't. That's pretty much it. It's a good sign that she's vehement about you leaving her alone--in my experience, the meaner the mama the more likely the chicks are to survive.

Last edited:
Make sure that the nest isn't so high off the ground that baby chicks can't get in and out of the nest. Make sure she's somewhere the rest of the flock can't get into the nest. Make sure she has food and water near, but not actually in the nest. On night 7, candle the eggs to make sure they are developing properly. Discard ones that aren't. That's pretty much it. It's a good sign that she's vehement about you leaving her alone--in my experience, the meaner the mama the more likely the chicks are to survive.
Like where should I put her? Maybe in like a pen? I have this big round thing in the bottom of the coop that she is sitting in..