Broody hen laying on her egg! what is my first step!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by NorthernChick1, Jul 18, 2019.

1. NorthernChick1

NorthernChick1 Songster

Jul 11, 2018
    Ontario, Canada
    Hey everyone!

My silkie hen is my first hen to go broody! i have a mixed flock and have a silkie roo who is lately getting it on with my other silkie hen and two ee's. now i spoted my silkie hen lay in a dirt pile the past couple days and i would pick up the eggs. last night she didnt want to go in the coop she layed in the dirt hole with no egg until i forced her to go in the coop. Again tonight in the poring rain she was laying there with a warm egg underneath her. Then i clued in!
    Its been a little over a year since ive started raising chickens and its my first time dealing with a broody! now id like to leave her do her thing and see if she successfully hatches chicks but i dont know what to do!

1. I have two coops. a big one and a small portable one that can house up to three hens. I took the egg and herself and put her in there and made a little nest on the ground with the egg because she doesnt want to climb in the upper section. was i supposed to do that?

2. since ive put her in there the roo went crazy and is circling the coop. She has no interest in the egg sincd ive put her in there alone (about 30minutes now)

3. Do i let the roo and maybe the other silkie hen in with her?

I have attached a picture of the portable coop/run and another with what ive done with the egg. i dont want to leave her out in the open since theres manny predators around here. so id like to leave her in the small coop but the roo is freaking out and so is she. 20190718_205619.jpg

Please help!! 20190718_205114.jpg

penny1960 likes this.
  2. NorthernChick1

NorthernChick1 Songster

Jul 11, 2018
    Ontario, Canada
    20190718_205626.jpg

penny1960 likes this.
  3. NorthernChick1

NorthernChick1 Songster

Jul 11, 2018
    Ontario, Canada