Broody hen missing chicks

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mduerksen, Sep 10, 2016.

1. mduerksen

mduerksen Out Of The Brooder

Mar 15, 2015
    This is my first time having a broody hen. She is a year and a half.

She went broody and I tried to break her using the hanging cage techniques and kept taking eggs out of nest boxes. Neither worked so I got some fertilized eggs from a local guy.

20 -21 days later we had 3 chicks with 2 eggs still under momma. Well I was pretty sure from candling 1 was not good so I took it and candled it and sure enough it was no good. So two days ago we had 3- fluffy day old chicks and one egg and a happy momma. Chick food and water went in to the coop and I went to bed. I did not check on them in the morning before work yesterday but my husband went out around 11 and found one dead chick in the middle of the coop and momma on the nest with one fluffy chick no eggs but 2 missing chicks. (I think she was with the chick from that one egg that hadn't hatched the night before)

I came home at lunch found momma with the one chick and still no sign of the other 2 chicks.

After work (around 3) came home. Momma was in the middle of the coop with the chick she had been with earlier dead under her.

Well this morning she is not leaving the coop and puffing up every time I try to check on her. She even attacked me when I gathered eggs.

Details: momma is a partridge rock. I have 3 other hens dame age and 1 bantam that is 6months old. They share a nice big coop (it is the woodshed too) their portion is 6 wide x 12 long. Stays warm. They have 3 nest boxes. Their attached covered run is 24 x 6.
    Momma hen is the bully of the group and during setting the eggs had no problem keeping the hens away. We put the nest box on the ground. The nesting material was apple chip wood (same thing we use when we get néw chicks) the floor of the coop is wood chips and shavings.