Broody hen on day 19. :) What to do??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by lowillobe, Jul 27, 2010.

1. lowillobe

lowillobe Out Of The Brooder

Jun 8, 2008
    Our hen went broody so we ordered some eggs. I read somewhere that eggs under a hen hatch in 20 days.

It is day nineteen.

I've set up a chick station for when they hatch. (we've raised chicks before but never hatched any)
    We are gonna raise the chicks because we want the hen to keep sitting on the duck egg.

If someone could answer some questions for me it would be GREAT! [​IMG] (i'm mostly finding info on incubating eggs.)

1. What is all this about pipping and zipping?

2. Will she squish them?

3. Do they hatch while she is sitting on them or does the hen kind of squat??

4. Any hints or tips. Or a step by process?

Thanks! [​IMG]

2. mothersin2ition

mothersin2ition Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2008
    Othello, WA
    Okay Im not an expert but here's my advice. First of all, I dont think your hen will be able to hatch a duck egg because they require so much more humidity, but Im not 100% on that. Im sure someone will confirm or deny that one.
    Pipping refers to the first initial poke through to the outside of the shell. Zipping is the rest of the hatching process- they kindof peck a line from the inside of the shell all around, and them pop out.
    A good mother hen will not squish her babies, though I have had an experience where the mama was setting on too many eggs, and somehow 2 of the fully formed babies did get squished as they were nearing hatch date. How many are your sitting on? Oh, and she is definitely sitting on them, not squatting because they need every extra ounce of humidity during hatch to get out. She will not even get up those last 3 days to eat, drink or poop.