Broody hen question.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jermoatc, Jun 16, 2011.

1. jermoatc

jermoatc Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 5, 2011
    Lake Crystal, MN
    I am fairly new to raising chickens. I have 8 hens and I have my first broody . Do I need to break her? If I dont break her, how long will she stay broody?

2. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

I happen to think breaking a broody is cruel and unusual punishment.

Can you not give her some fertile eggs to hatch? That would be most natural......

3. jermoatc

Feb 5, 2011
    Lake Crystal, MN
    I dont have room for more chickens but I suppose I could and then sell them.

4. Lollipop

Lollipop Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:Well, I don`t think breaking a broody is cruel, but I do preffer to let them run their course, usually a month, give or take, but exceptions are not uncommon. Some hens turn around in a couple weeks, but I`ve had some that set longer than 3 months on nothing but straw..........Pop

5. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    What I do is gently lift them off the nest and shoo them out the coop door, sometimes several times a day. When I go to close up the coop at night, I'll take the hen out of the nestbox and put her up on the roost. I also try to collect eggs frequently so they have nothing to sit on. Most of them give up after a few days, but Billina, our head hen, is stubborn. She's been broody for the full 3 week incubation period twice already this spring. I keep an eye on her weight and just let her do what makes her happy.

6. jermoatc

Feb 5, 2011
    Lake Crystal, MN
    Thanks all for the input. I love this forum. Yall are so helpful. If I were to get her some eggs to hatch, how many is a good number clutch?

7. wsmoak

wsmoak Chillin' With My Peeps

My Barred Rock hen is sitting on ten, and that seems to be a good number. I'd say 8-10.