Broody hen question

Julie08

Songster
11 Years
May 19, 2008
Ontario, Canada
Are they not suppose to STOP laying when they are broody??? My hen has been broody for weeks but never stops laying. She never did wait for a clutch she started sitting on the first one day one second egg third etc......so she has been hatching a chick a day for the last 10 or so days. Okay but now its time to stop. But she just keeps laying and sitting, she's getting thin and needs to get out of this!!! I guess this means I have to move her and candle every day to see which egg is the new one?? I tried marking them but she just cleans off or pulls off everything I try...... she's got 5 left that should finish in the next 5 days but I don't want new chicks to develop in the newly hatched eggs. Can anyone help me out here?

YES, hens are definitely supposed to STOP laying when they are broody. I've been hatching eggs w/broody hens for 17 years and have never had a hen continue to lay when broody. Are you positive they are her eggs, and not eggs that another hen is laying in her nest?

When my hens go broody on a clutch, all the other hens like to lay their eggs in the same nest because they like to lay where there are already other eggs.

I just mark the original eggs with large, dark "X"'s in pencil. It seems to stay pretty well. Then when I'm gathering eggs I lift the broody off the nest, gather any eggs that don't have an "X", and put her back on.

My broody would getup an let others lay in her box. I eventually had to move her. her hatch took four days to complete. i have another who is broody right now, and I will move her tonight. She's been up in the rafters for two days,