Broody Hen, started with 7 eggs, down to 2!!!! UGH!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MissDeb, Mar 24, 2009.

1. MissDeb

MissDeb Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2008
    Mat-su Alaska
    Hi everyone!

I was wondering if I might be wasting my time by hatching out the last two eggs I have. I started them on the 4th of March. In the time that I have been waiting. I had two that were not fertile so we tossed them. I found one a couple of days ago eaten, nothing left but a peace of the egg left.
    And yesterday I went back in, only to find a chick under her, dead with part of the egg attached to its legs. It looked like a normal chick, ready to hatch.

If they havent done anything by now, will they ever? Time to start over? [​IMG] Im new to all this, so is she.

Last edited: Mar 24, 2009
  2. OCchickens

OCchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2008
    Brea, California
    You'll be 21 days tomorrow, right? I would give it another couple days -- who knows -- you may get a chick yet![​IMG]

3. MissDeb

Apr 22, 2008
    Mat-su Alaska
    Hi OC,

Thank you, yes, I believe we'll be 21 days tomorrow. I'm reading all I can while I wait for replies. Maybe since the coop is a bit cooler it'll delay the hatch a bit. Is there anything to look for at this point?

4. OCchickens

Jul 19, 2008
    Brea, California
    I'm certainly not an expert on hatching with a broody. I can't really see what you can do at this point. Have you candled those 2 remaining eggs to see if they're viable (not suggesting you do that -- not sure if it's ok to handle them at this point altho seems like people do it all the time).

5. MissDeb

Apr 22, 2008
    Mat-su Alaska
    We candled them around 10 days, the ones we could clearly see there was nothing there we tossed out. Which was two of them. The others were too dark to see anything so we left them. She kicked one out of the nest, ate another and we had a chick just yesterday but it was not alive when I found it.