Broody Hen Wanted

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Chickenwhispere, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Chickenwhispere

Chickenwhispere Out Of The Brooder

Mar 3, 2011
    Hi there![​IMG] I Just ordered a 12 chicks (Welsummers) from Pap's Poultry in WesternPort, Maryland. I Homeschool my kids and I thought it would be neat to perhaps adopt a broody hen and have her raise our chicks. Forgive me if this is unusual, I am new to raising chickens and I don't know all the "rules" to raising chicks or even if this idea would work...[​IMG]
    Is this something people do often? Or is it just my crazy mind that has thought of this..?? I would LOVE [​IMG] if someone would give me their broody hen (as crazy as that sounds) I would pay as much as you want (within reason). I am located in Montgomery County, MD so I would prefer this hen to live nearby...because I don't know if it would be a good idea to mail a broody hen.[​IMG] THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH! After sitting for hours in front of my computer on this website [​IMG] reading about chickens/raising chicks [​IMG] I am soooo EXCITED to get themm!![​IMG] THANKSS [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
  2. Amarisus

Amarisus Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2011
    Fallbrook CA
    I have heard of people adding a chick or two to the group a broody is raising but with limited success. I think moving a broody hen from her nest will upset her enough to where she wont take the chicks but I am no expert this is just things I have read in the past. So getting someone elses broody probably wont work out. Good luck

3. Chickenwhispere

Mar 3, 2011
    Ok...thank you:) like I said I am new to raising chickens. You're prob. right about removing a broody hen from her nest, I don't really see how this Idea could work out...[​IMG] Thanksss anyway!![​IMG]

4. mmaddie's mom

mmaddie's mom Chillin' With My Peeps