1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Broody hen?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Alydup, Aug 21, 2018.

1. Alydup

Alydup Chirping

Aug 20, 2018
    I recently took in a tiny frizzle that was being bullied in her own flock. I am new to chickens and just had some young unthreatening chickens similar in size to her at the moment. I separated her in a kennel with a nesting box but she never did use the nesting box just dug a little nest in the ground and laid her eggs there. Once I allowed her out with my chickens they seemed to get along fine but I left the open kennel because I read it was good to keep a place for a new chicken to hide in case they need it. She began to spend most of her time sitting in the kennel and continued to lay her eggs there. I then removed the kennel because they were getting along fine and now she hasn’t laid an egg for over a week. Is this because she preferred the kennel to the nesting box or because she is broody? Or maybe something all together different? She seems to be otherwise healthy.

Chick-N-Fun and True Patriot like this.
  2. staceyj

staceyj Crossing the Road

Jan 1, 2017
    Coastal NC
    My Coop
    Some broody behaviors include:
    Growling
    Pecking YOU
    Clucking incessantly
    Puffing up and fanning out tail feathers -basically impersonating a turkey.
    Gigantic poops
    Eating/drinking very little
    Pancake impersonations no matter where you put her.

3. Alydup

Alydup Chirping

Aug 20, 2018
    Hmm...this could be what’s going on. She’s pretty noisey and much less friendly than my other chickens... but I raised them from chicks. She has no tail feathers because they were all plucked out by her previous flock. I have never had an adult chicken so I don’t really know the norm behaviour wise.