Broody Hen

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Ravens Haven, Mar 6, 2009.

1. Ravens Haven

Ravens Haven Out Of The Brooder

Jan 25, 2009
    Bremen, GA
    Hi all,

I am new to this so if I have posted this in the wrong forum please move.

I have a broody game hen and I am wanting to purchase some blue Ameraucana eggs. Can I put her in a pen by herself and remove her eggs and replace them with the Ameraucana eggs? I do not have any incubator so she is all I have. Will this work??

Thanks
    Autumn

2. Jennings Gamefowl

Jennings Gamefowl Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2009
    CORDOVA,SOUTH CAROLINA
    it should work... as long as you do it fast

3. jhm47

jhm47 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2008
    I'm not sure that it will work if you relocate the game hen to another pen. It often works with some of the heavier breed hens, but game hens are a bit more nervous and flighty. It would be best if you could just substitute the fertile eggs for the ones you wish to remove, and leave the hen where she is. Good luck!

4. Jenski

Jenski Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 17, 2008
    Middle Tennessee
    I would give 'er a shot, but wait until late at night to move her. Leave some infertile eggs under her when you move her, and give her a day or two to adjust and make sure she stays on the eggs.

Now whether you decide to do this depends on what the current nest situation is like. I am going to move two broodies this weekend, since they cannot hatch in the "common area" where they currently are - - and they are clogging up the works with the other hens who are waiting to lay! I will move them at night, check the situation with infertile eggs, and set the "real" eggs once they are settled.

Good luck with whatever you decide!

5. okiehen

okiehen Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 25, 2007
    Oklahoma
    My best broody hen is an American Game hen.
    I let her get good and set then I move her at night into a pet taxi.