Broody hen

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by NewToFarming, Aug 21, 2010.

1. NewToFarming

NewToFarming Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Millersburg, PA
    I just bought two older silkie hens last night. I had an egg within one hour of getting home and another one this morning. The one hen is broody and sitting on the eggs. I am new to all of this but wanted to ask if there is anything in particular to watch for with her? I got her off the nest 3 times today so she could eat and drink which she did and then I put her back on the nest. Is there anything else I should be doing for her?

2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Quote:She'll get off the nest when she feels the need to eat, drink and poop. My Silkie would only leave the nest once a day. Just keep food and clean water nearby and she'll handle the rest. Silkies are great mamas.

3. pgpoultry

pgpoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2009
    Wales
    Generally no need to do anything apart from provide her with fertile eggs to hatch (you didn't say if you had a rooster)

Sandie

4. NewToFarming

Apr 28, 2010
    Millersburg, PA
    I do have roos but she also came still fertile from where I had gotten her. I can't wait for the chicks to come!!!! [​IMG] Is it ok to get them off the nest to eat & drink? It was pretty late in the day and she didn't have anything so that is why I had helped her. I wasn't sure if she would get off the nest to eat or drink with being in new surroundings either so I did help her yesterday. I guess I can play it by ear and see how today goes. Should I be giving her and special foods like vitamins or extra protein? I do have the smaller feeder & water right next to her nest.
    I was so happy to see that egg the first night!!! These are my first eggs!!! I have 11 week old pullets and 4 sikie roos! Both of the new girls are laying and only the one is broody.

5. pgpoultry