Broody Hen?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by bloom chicks, Nov 27, 2011.

1. bloom chicks

bloom chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2011
    FL
    I am new to having chickens. I have a red rock that has been in her nest since this morning (at least since I have let them out). Before 7:30am. She makes a funny noise when other hens come close to her. She is 27 weeks old. She has only been laying for 3 weeks. I put some eggs in front of her and she put them under her.

The nest she is in she was the only one laying in, however my BR just started laying and it is in her box. We have 7 boxes. This morning BR layed her egg while Red Rock was still in there.
    Do I need to move her somewhere else? I would love it if she really is broody but not sure what the best thing to do is.
    If I move her will she not be broody any more?

If she decides to get off the eggs today are they still good to eat?

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    My rule for determining if they are broody is where they spend the night. If a hen stays on her nest two nights in a row, then I consider her broody and worthy of eggs. Otherwise, they are just messing with me.

If she is broody, you have a couple of basic options. You can leave her where she is. Hens have been hatching and raising chicks with the flock for thousands of years. Sometimes there are problems, but sometimes there are problems if you try to move one and isolate her. You need to collect the eggs every day until you have all you want her to hatch, then give them all to her at the same time. If you collect them once a day, before nightfall, they are good to eat.