Broody Hen

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by k9jms, Jan 2, 2013.

1. k9jms

k9jms Out Of The Brooder

Apr 12, 2012
    Hello everyone,
    I am fairly new to chickens. I have had my first chicken, a bantam EE go broody a couple of weeks ago. I have tried to candle but honestly have no idea what I am doing. So I have left her and the eggs alone, and let her do her thing. My question is if the eggs are not fertile will she give up sitting on them on her own, or will I have to take them from underneath her? I am afraid to take the eggs for fear of there being a chick in one if not all of them. Yet I read somewhere that the eggs might actually explode if left.
    Thank you for the responses,
    Rachel

2. TheSpeckledRoo

TheSpeckledRoo Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2012
    Michigan
    Candling is done by shining a bright light through the egg. You can see veins and what not after a few days of fertility. Do you have a rooster? If not the egg will never be fertile and will never hatch. Chickens cannot tell if the egg is fertile or not. Eventually they will abandon their clutch of eggs. You will have to take the eggs underneath her in order for her to stop her brood.

3. k9jms

k9jms Out Of The Brooder

Apr 12, 2012
    Thank you for the fast response. Yes, I do have a rooster and he does breed his ladies quite frequently. She has about 5 eggs under her and has sat on the religiously, only getting up to eat or drink. What are the chances that all the eggs are infertile? I would just be devastated if I took the eggs and see a baby inside one of them. I honestly did not expect my hens to go broody so soon.

4. Chick_In_The_Burbs

Chick_In_The_Burbs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2010
    Western Washington
    Step one, recandle. You are looking for veins or darkness. This is the best thread for that.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...g-candling-pics-progression-though-incubation