Broody hen's eggs are pipping-bad news on the first one though

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by logansmommy7, May 27, 2010.

1. logansmommy7

logansmommy7 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2009
    Shenandoah Valley
    So we have our broody sitting for the first time since she has been with us. She has been faithful and the day has arrived. Well-the first one we witnessed trying to break free...we had to go somewhere so we left...along the way my sis called (she stopped by to check on it) and said it was out, alive, but breathing heavily and not upright...well-we came home to a sad case...dead. We can hear the others pecking...are they all gonna die? I've never done this before. Maybe the shell was too hard? Our brown eggers are typically very hard shells...what do do? I was SOOO sad! Could the mom squish it?

2. Sequin

Sequin Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008
    Our first one died too. But now we have 2 strong chicks already hatched and more on the way. Have a little faith - they will make it. [​IMG]

3. pgpoultry

pgpoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2009
    Wales
    My two rookies both had a couple of deaths before they had live chicks. It is likely that the others will be OK,
    Good Luck,
    Sandie

4. logansmommy7

logansmommy7 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2009
    Shenandoah Valley