Broody hen's eggs not hatching?

rpayne10

In the Brooder
6 Years
May 14, 2013
Sorry I'm sure someone has posted this already but I couldn't find it in the search. One of my hens went broody while I was on vacation in mid March and I decided to let her sit on the eggs. Well it's now May 14 and no eggs have hatched. Ok one egg hatched as I found a dead chick a few days ago. What is she doing wrong? I feel so bad because she is trying so hard and leaving her nest only once a day to eat briefly. I haven't moved her because I don't have anywhere else to put her yet and I have no experience candling so I don't know if they are even alive still. I know the other hens are still laying eggs in the nest every once in a while. Any suggestions? I know they are fertile as one has hatched and the rooster is doing a good ob covering all the hens.

Your hen has been sitting for two months? Isn't that bad for her? Not being able to eat well for that long. Candling is not too hard. I suggest to search youtube for videos showing how to do it and what to look for. That way you know what eggs to throw out.

I've been researching it since I posted this thread and I think I will try it this weekend since it's a little cold and rainy today. My hubby made this rabbit/chicken hutch that I'm going to clean up and move her and the "good" eggs into this weekend. She gets up once in the morning to eat and I go in and bring her fresh greens and bugs in the afternoon because I was worried about how hard it has been for her. Bless her heart she is trying so hard to hatch these eggs. Is it ok to candle ALL the eggs? Should I use gloves? Thanks for the feedback.