Broody hens working together?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by a2ms4chickens, May 21, 2008.

1. a2ms4chickens

a2ms4chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 16, 2007
    Tucson, AZ
    I am a chicken novice, and I have two broody hens in the same pen, but in 2 different boxes. I need your opinions.

First of all, 1 hen hatched her first egg last Friday, but still had 5 eggs under her. She keeps a close eye on this chick and is showing him how to eat and drink.

Yesterday, 2 more chicks hatched. Unfortunately, the mama pecked these two on their heads. My son was able to get the chicks out of the pen, and we put them in a brooder after putting antibiotic ointment on their wounds. We were able to get them both to drink some water. By the time they went to bed, they were pooped! They both survived the night and are eating and drinking and getting around pretty good.
    We put the antibiotic ointment on 2-3x per day, and I have added a weak vitamin/electrolyte supplement to their water. Hopefully, these two will make it.

[​IMG]

Tonight, she abandoned her nest with 3 eggs left, and crawled into the other broody hen's nesting box. So now, I have 2 hens in this box, plus the 1st little chick.

[​IMG]

I told my son that she abandoned her last 3 eggs and to put them in the desert. As he was taking them out there, he told me that he heard chirping in one of the eggs. I didn't believe him, of course, but I listened to the egg and there was chirping and pecking. So, he put the egg under the hen, hoping that it might still have a chance to hatch.

Does anyone have an opinion as to why she would leave her eggs and volunteer to sit on another broody's eggs? They should be begin hatching on Thursday.

Also, why would she accept 1 chick, but then try to kill these other chicks?

My son, who is 11, is concerned that this is going to happen again, and he says that because I read this forum that I have all the answers. [​IMG]