Broody hens?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by MuscovyMad, Jan 4, 2011.

1. MuscovyMad

MuscovyMad Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2010
    I was just wondering if someone could explain broodiness?

I understand that chickens stop laying and decide to start sitting on eggs in a bid to hatch out chicks. However if the eggs are removed daily prior to her becoming broody how can you hatch out chicks from that hen? Because she is not laying anymore eggs however she wants to sit.

Also if you decide to let her sit would you collect eggs from the other laying chickens and put them under her for her to hatch. That way she will hatch them out on the same day (in theory). And remove any eggs added to the nest by the other chickens.

Any help would be much appreciated cause i am new to chickens and want to breed one of my pekin bantams this spring however i have no idea how to go about it.

2. pkw

pkw Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2010
    North Edwards, CA
    I don't think you can make a hen go broody. I have raised chickens (also raised ducks until my husband made me sell them) for 10 years and in all that time I only had one duck and 3 chicken hens go broody. My duck was a rouen that went broody and she had 18-20 eggs under her and as it was, only 8 of those hatched. She was so protective over her nest but once the ducklings hatched out, they were on their own. One by one they got ate by ravens. Now last month I had 3 hens go broody. One sat on a nest for 2 weeks and she quit so I put her eggs in the incubator and one just hatched today. I had another one that sat for one week then she quit and I have one that is currently sitting (I ended up having to move her to a location along with her nest and eggs and also some food and water.. she was staying away from her nest too long and her eggs were getting too cool).