Broody on infertile eggs. What next?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by lovemychickies, Apr 2, 2009.

1. lovemychickies

lovemychickies Out Of The Brooder

Apr 1, 2009
    Northern CA!!
    My poor little white frizzle bantam has been trying SO hard to hatch eggs which I think are infertile. It's been about two and a half weeks and after looking at the great new pics on here of how to candle eggs, I'm realizing that the eggs are duds.
    How do I go about taking care of my hen? Do I just take the eggs away? What if she lays more? Any help would be appreciated. I'm still really new to all of this.

2. melissastraka

melissastraka Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2009
    Hoquiam, WA
    Get with a BYC member or someone locally that has fertile eggs and slip them under her. There is no difference if they are her own or placed there by you. Good luck

3. lovemychickies

Apr 1, 2009
    Northern CA!!
    Thanks for the tip. My rooster is a bantam and I guess he just can't quite reach!! [​IMG]

If I'm not able to get my hands on fertile eggs, what would be the next step? I can't let the poor little thing set forever.

4. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    Some folks buy day old chicks and slip them under a broody at night... Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't so if it doesn't you have to be prepared to move the chicks into a brooder and your broody away from her nest.

5. lovemychickies

Apr 1, 2009
    Northern CA!!
    Okay... so how do I remove her from her nest? She made it on the floor away from the nesting boxes. Do I just take her off, remove the eggs and force her to spend the day outside with her friends? Will she just forget about the chickies that could of been?[​IMG]

If she keeps laying do I just keep taking? Poor little thing.

6. thethreadedgarden

thethreadedgarden New Egg

Aug 31, 2008