Broody on nest of questionable eggs for too long

QChickieMama

Crowing
12 Years
Oct 1, 2011
I'm not good at candling these eggs, and some have dark shells which makes it harder for light to pass. What would you do with a broody who's been on this nest of a zillion eggs for 5 days past the hatch date?

Some eggs that weren't fertile have broken and gotten others in the nest messy. Makes me wonder what is happening to the fertile eggs in there?

If there's no other action to take now, how long would you recommend I let her sit this batch before discarding the whole nest full?

I'm not good at candling these eggs, and some have dark shells which makes it harder for light to pass. What would you do with a broody who's been on this nest of a zillion eggs for 5 days past the hatch date?

Some eggs that weren't fertile have broken and gotten others in the nest messy. Makes me wonder what is happening to the fertile eggs in there?

If there's no other action to take now, how long would you recommend I let her sit this batch before discarding the whole nest full?
So you’re on day 26? Are we talking chickens or ducks?

So you’re on day 26? Are we talking chickens or ducks?
Yes, day 26ish. Sunday was day 21 but I added more fertile chicken eggs on the 2nd & 3rd days. Was thinking I'd see some action this week. Side note: Other hens with infertile eggs have access to this nest, so I keep trying to get their eggs out...Sometimes it's hard to know. Wish I'd penciled on the original set.

Yes, day 26ish. Sunday was day 21 but I added more fertile chicken eggs on the 2nd & 3rd days. Was thinking I'd see some action this week. Side note: Other hens with infertile eggs have access to this nest, so I keep trying to get their eggs out...Sometimes it's hard to know. Wish I'd penciled on the original set.