Broody or other problem?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by HollyKMS, Dec 31, 2009.

1. HollyKMS

HollyKMS Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 7, 2009
    Felida WA
    I'm new at this so I need some advice.

Our Australorp pullet, who's only been laying for about a month, won't get off the nest. She's been on there going on 3 days. She laid an egg again this morning next to Welsummer's egg (hers was still warm when I removed the eggs) so she's not got an egg obstruction, I don't think. They both lay 5 or 6 eggs a week.

We have no rooster- will unbred chickens become broody like this? She doesn't seem sick otherwise and when we take her out and hand-feed her worms, she eats them ravenously. She acts normal if I take her out and put her with the chickens, will eat the crushed corn treat, etc, but within a few minutes wanders off from the other ladies and goes straight back to her favorite nest box.

I'm worried she's going to cull herself. [​IMG] Suggestions?

2. Dar

Dar Overrun With Chickens

Jul 31, 2008
    is she still laying?

when you go to taker off does she make a weird sound and seem like she is going to peck you?

A hen will still go broody with no rooster present.

3. LynneP

LynneP Chillin' With My Peeps

My Zipfi is like that and she has self-plucked a bare patch of skin. No rooster needed.
    She would be a treasure if I were breeding chickens, and I'm lucky she keeps weight on.
    That's your big concern really, making sure your hen eats enough especially in cold weather.

Some thoughts here, I think you may see your hen in this situation-

https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=7693-sick-hen

4. HollyKMS

Oct 7, 2009
    Felida WA
    Wow Lynne- Zipfi's beautiful--that wattle's so bright and big! [​IMG]

Dar, not only is she still laying, I just went out to move her from the nest box and lo-and-behold, she's laid a SECOND egg today, which she's NEVER done before. No idea what that's about...