Broody question

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by mordarlar, Jan 20, 2011.

1. mordarlar

mordarlar Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2010
    Hello all. This is my first time with a potential broody hen, well pullet actually.

She is approx 9 months and we had removed her because our young roo kept biting onto her crop while mating and she began to bleed. The weather where i am is pretty chilly but she had been spending the last few days in a lightly heated back storage room. While she was in iso she began to display what i thought was early broody behavior. She started excessively grooming her breast, gathering a pile of hay and just had an unusual type of posture while sitting. She had her head low, her body sort of spread out and a sort of zoned manner. The first time i stuck my hand into her cage she pecked at me which is pretty out of character but i figured it was from all the changes.

I decided to give her the eggs i had on hand. There were seven. She began shifting them all around and then began to set on them. She wasn't covering all of them but had the majority under her. I was thrilled. I left and came back a little later and she wasn't on the eggs anymore. I watched for a while and she just seemed unable to decide if she was going to set on the eggs or not. Is this normal?

She clearly is interested in setting on them and will do for a short amount of time. She occasionally gets up to move them around a bit and then returns to setting. Should i just leave her be and see what happens? Or should i remove the eggs?

Thanks for any help. [​IMG]

2. HorseFeatherz NV

HorseFeatherz NV Eggink Chickens

How much time is she spending off of the eggs?

Could be she is just starting. I would date the eggs and let her decide what she is going to do - but I love me a broody [​IMG]

3. FuzzyButtsFarm

FuzzyButtsFarm Rest in Peace 1950-2013