Broody WH what to do?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by chickkrzi, Feb 20, 2014.

1. chickkrzi

chickkrzi Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 8, 2011
    Waco texas
    I just got some Welsh Harlequins a few months ago ( 1 Drake 3 ducks). Have been getting quite a few eggs from the girls. Wasn't really sure if the eggs where fertile so i put 4 in with my Rhode Island Red eggs in my incubator. Seeing I'm new to having WH ducks or for that matter ducks in general. I didnt know what time of year they might go broody. So once i found my ducks where fertile, started working on some type of plan. Im a big fan of letting mom do all the work hatching the eggs. So I went to there nest every day and marked each egg with the date (with pencil on the air sack end) and place them back in the nest. And when i got about 14-15 eggs I then would remove the eggs with the oldest date trying to keep around 14 eggs in the nest. I'm thinking I done this for 3 weeks before one became broody. At last count she had 15 duck eggs, and she might have a few sexlink eggs as well (they like using her nest) and 2 golf balls that my chicken kept kicking out of there nesting boxes. So now i have a few questions for my expert WH owners.
    1) if I pull her off her nest in 7 days to candle the eggs is there a chance she'll give up the nest?
    2) Do I need to keep the others (duck, chickens) away for the duration of incubation?
    3) If so would it be ok if i move her and her nest to the breeding pin where i could isolate her from the others? I've done this with hens (chickens) before with a great deal of success.
    4) Before when i would have a broody hen i would feed her chick starter / grow during her time on the nest until the chicks where about 5 weeks old. Does this apply to broody ducks as well?
    I really was expecting them to go broody until maybe end of March, guess I was wrong about that.

[​IMG]

2. Learningstill

Learningstill Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2013