Broody with no roo? Pic Added *UPADATE*

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Nyna, Aug 6, 2007.

1. Nyna

Nyna Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2007
    Western Montana
    Hi, I hope that is not a stupid question, but I have a hen that has been sitting on her eggs for two days now! I don't get it, she wouldn't get up to free range with the rest and wouldn't even get up for scratch. I am worried she hasn't eaten or drank water. I don't have a rooster so I really don't know what's going on. Forgive me, I am still learning about chickens (thanks to you guys). Any info would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
    Oh- she couldn't be egg bound or anything could she?
    -worried mother

Last edited: Aug 8, 2007
  2. tiffanyh

tiffanyh Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2007
    Connecticut
    She is doing everything a hen shoud do. She has no idea that the eggs arent fertile. Usually it starts when a couple eggs "build up" in the nest. She will sit on them with little movement, food or water for almost a month. The eggs will obviously not hatch since no roo was involved.

You can
    1. Get some fertile eggs and let her sit on them, although if this is her first time and she is young, you dont know for sure if she'll do a good job or if youll end up having to incubate. Youd have to get them quick cause after about 21 days, she will probably stop sitting.

2. Wait and see if she gets over

3. Be more aggressive about "gettiing her over it" by locking her out of the nest.

See if anyone else has any ideas for you.

3. Nyna

Jul 3, 2007
    Western Montana