Broody WLH day 15 "oh my nerves!" (pics)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by jengro65, Sep 18, 2011.

1. jengro65

jengro65 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2011
    Morgantown, WV
    I never expected my white leghorn Molly to become broody but here we are at day 15. This is truely a nail biter! I keep expecting her to jump off the next at anytime after everything I've read about the breed. I candled the 7 eggs she's sitting with on day 7 and saw web like veins in all. I don't want to candle again because I fear I might upset the peace. This is my first time with chickens and even though i've read a researched until i went cross eyed i still feel so anxious.
    Here are pics of Mama and Papa. Any guesses for what the chicks will be?? I believe he is a mutt. Possibly Black sex link??He has 5 toes on each foot btw.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Red&Yellow

Red&Yellow Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2009
    Frederick County, MD
    She looks pretty determined! I think it's great how she wants to do it, even though her breed historically dosen't set.

Sire looks cool, I think you're right a black sex-link, but because of the extra toes he is a backyard made one. Where'd you get him?
    Sorry, no clue what the babies'll look like, besides adorable [​IMG]

Oh and take a DEEP breath! It's nerve-racking, but what happens happens. And it ain't nothing you can do about it [​IMG]

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Oh, I'm with you! I stress the full 21+ days.
    I have ex battery hens. They "don't go broody", right? My 5th mom hatched out her eggs last week. And they are wonderful moms.
    I'm sure your hens will do the same.
    And I want to see pics of the chicks, they are going to be gorgeous! Love your roo.

4. CakePrincess21

CakePrincess21 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 17, 2011