Broody?????

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jeepers210, Jan 25, 2011.

1. jeepers210

jeepers210 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 21, 2010
    Hanover PA
    I am new to pretty much everything chicken since last August. I have noticed that my mixed red sits all day long on a nest of eggs thats not even hers. I dont have a rooster anymore so I know the eggs arn't fertile. She was born in April and started laying around Nov/Dec. I move her to get the eggs when I get home. She gets angry and pecks at me. This has been going on for almost two weeks. How long will this last and am I doing her harm by taking the eggs everyday?? I feel horrible doing this but I need my eggs!!

2. M To The Maxx

M To The Maxx Baseball+Girls=Life

Jul 24, 2009
    Lutz,FL
    Sounds like she is broody.

3. jeepers210

Sep 21, 2010
    Hanover PA
    Why do they get broody?

4. M To The Maxx

M To The Maxx Baseball+Girls=Life

Jul 24, 2009
    Lutz,FL
    Quote:They want to be mommies. [​IMG]

5. jeepers210

Sep 21, 2010
    Hanover PA
    How long will it last? Am I destroying her when I take the eggs? When I saw her try ang clutch them under her with her beak it broke my heart!

6. kateseidel

kateseidel Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 9, 2010
    jeepers - when one of my buff orpingtons goes broody, it usually lasts about 3 weeks. Fortunately, my girls are extremely good natured, and don't object when I reach under to take their eggs (we don't have a rooster, so no good will come of sitting). But the broody will gather up everyone else's eggs and I will often find her guarding 7 or 8 eggs. Keep an eye on her and make sure she is getting up to go and eat and drink every now and then; if not (and if you can), pick her up and send her off for a bit. She'll come back within 30 minutes, but she does need to eat something.

My broody Ethel
    [​IMG]

7. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

Could you find some fertile eggs for her to hatch?