Brown Egg layer laying whitish eggs? ((Pic Included))

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Reurra, Feb 25, 2013.

1. Reurra

Reurra Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2012
    Nova Scotia
    One of my birds are laying whitish eggs. This started a few days ago.

All my birds started laying brown eggs when they started laying but in the past few days Ive been getting these cream colored eggs. I have not recently changed feed on them. Its the same pellets Ive been giving them for the past 3 months, Purina Layer Feed.

Anyhow, the eggs seem normal in every way other than the color change.

I got 2 young pullets the other day that are supposed to be Americaunas and lay either green or blue eggs. the larger bird looks as though she might be ready to lay so i suspected she might be the culprit, but Ive never seen her in the egg boxes. I have 6 hens total, 4 current layers and the 2 Americauna pullets. Im still getting 2-4 eggs day from the original hens. Im starting to suspect that maybe the larger pullet has started laying, or my Blue Australorp is to blame because she always seemed to lay an egg with lots of bloom.

Any suggestions on whats going on?

(they havent been outside much in the last 3 months due to extra cold/windy/rainy/snowy weather)

The one in the top left corner has a touch of green on it, but I cant tell if its poop or pigment. the others are cream/off white and shiny. All 5 of the white eggs are at the top left, the rest are the normal color I usually get, though some kind of have a pinkish hue.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 25, 2013
  2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I believe it is the shell gland that puts on the color of an egg. Genetics, type of bird and how many eggs she lays will determine how dark the color of the egg is. If she lays a lot of eggs, the color may lighten up. After a molt and has had a long break, her eggs will be darker.