Brown layer laying a white egg?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by bird9, Aug 2, 2013.

1. bird9

bird9 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 2, 2013
    Hello! I am new to BYC and I have a Q I hope someone can answer for me. First my flock particulars: I have 2 RI, 2 Comet, 1 BA. All are 15 mo old and normally good layers. 1 comet, who has always been picked on by others, has gone broody. I gave up trying to change her mind, I just put her down for food & water at least 2 times a day and leave her be.

Here is Q I have gotten 3 white eggs this week. Very thin shell & only one was intact. I know for sure the non-broody comet and the BA did not lay them, as I saw them lay on day of 1st white egg. Is it possible that the broody hen laid them? I know they don't usually lay, but I was thinking that maybe lack of good diet might cause this? Until she went broody was a very good layer. I normally got 4-5 eggs per day with 5 hens. This has now changed due to molts and heat and grumpy broody hen.

Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks!

2. ChocolateMouse

ChocolateMouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 29, 2013
    Cleveland OH
    Do you give them oyster shell and feed a layer feed?

3. bird9

bird9 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 2, 2013
    Yes on the layer feed. No on the oyster shell, as thin shells has not been an issue in the past. Just very thin on the white eggs. Have had 3 of them now. I am wondering if thin white eggs are result of broody hen not eating as well as she used to before becoming broody? Though, I thought broody hens don't lay eggs at all.

4. ChocolateMouse

Jul 29, 2013
    Cleveland OH
    Broody hens don't normally lay eggs, no. Could possibly be a sick hen.