Buff has been pecked horribly bad! Need advise on what to do - PLEASE

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by macliff, Feb 25, 2012.

1. macliff

macliff Out Of The Brooder

Feb 25, 2012
    NH
    Help! I am new to chicken raising and I am not sure what to do. I have 11 girls and I have a pecking probem going on in my coop!! I don't know who is the ringleader. My smallest Ameraucana girl has been harrassed for a while. She has been missing feathers on her back and tail but never had an open woond. There are a few others that I can tell have been feather pecked on their backs but not down to skin. A few days ago one of my favorite Buffs was pecked badly, she had a good size wound and was bleeding. I took her right out and set up a dog crate in the garage. I treated her with a spray antiseptic and gave her some time away. She would free range during the day. The others were in the run but they could see her. I have read countless blogs and have tried many suggestions to try to curb the pecking I have hung things in the coop to help keep them from being bored, hung a red light in the coop, added more protein to their diet, I put straw in the run for them to scratch at since the ground is frozen to help keep them busy. Their run is 18x8 and coop is 8x6. I am going CRAZY trying to solve this problem! She spent 3 nights in the garage. Today I put the Buff back in the coop/run. BIG MISTAKE! All seemed fine. Until I went into the coop tonight to close them up for the night. She was on the floor in a corner of the coop while all the others where on their roosts. She was bleeding and her wounds are worse. She is opened up on both sides of her back. Horrible really! I hate knowing that she is hurt so badly. I know they aren't suppose to be considered pets but I do care about them! Except I am pretty mad at what they have done to her. I sprayed her again with the antiseptic and put cornstarch on the wounds to help stop the bleeding. She is acting fine (she is really ve