Buff Ordington Chicken

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by HeatherPriser, Jan 11, 2017.

1. HeatherPriser

HeatherPriser New Egg

Jan 11, 2017
    Claypool, Indiana
    I have decided on the Buff Ordington Chickens as a pet! I am so extremely excited about getting them! I am NEW to this, as i have only ever had cats, dogs, fish and a bird once. Any advice i would greatly appreciate! Thank you and God Bless!

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Hello again, I answered your other post. If you would like to know more about buff orps put "buff orpingtons" in the search box and it should bring up several items. You may also want to check out the 'reviews," section to see how others rate them as a breed.

3. twoacrefarm

twoacrefarm Out Of The Brooder

Jun 12, 2016
    Indiana
    Welcome! You are going to love BO's! I have 2, one roo and one hen. I call my hen Mama, she was the first to lay an egg out of 11, she is the most friendly and the most curious. She loves to eat from my hand and loves to follow me around as I garden. She is perfect!

4. orrpeople

orrpeople Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2016
    Redding, CA
    Oh, I adore my two BOs! They are great flock mates to the rest of my layers. And, their personalities are very distinct - one is a lover, one is a noise box! Mine are not the greatest layers, but they are fairly consistent - about 3-4 a week. They're both so wonderfully fluffy, with their almost curly bustles and puffy pantaloons, that they're a pleasure to see out in the orchard grazing! The only drawback I have had is that they feel the heat of summer a bit more than everyone else, so I work to keep them cool (frozen berries and watermelon in an ice block and lots of shade).
    I agree with everyone else that there are lots of articles and comments about the breed on byc. But, for a first choice, I think BOs will bring you a lot of joy!