1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Buff Orphingtons egg laying

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by petertmlnsn, Nov 30, 2013.

1. petertmlnsn

petertmlnsn Out Of The Brooder

Nov 30, 2013
    Hello all from Australia. I am new to BYC so still learning how it all works.

Ok I have 3 Buff Orphington Hens aged 8 - 10 months old. I am not getting any eggs, off 2 of them, the other 1 is however laying well. Summer just started here. How come the other two are not laying? surly they are old enought now and the rooster ( Rodney ) is quite active with them, but no eggs. They have good food, water & free range everyday. I have searched high and low for secret laying spot and have also keep them locked up for 3 days but nothing. they have a nice big pen and good hutches ( old push mower catchers )

They are however sharing pen with ducks. - 2 female Mallards, I Mallard drake, 1 Muscovy drake, 2 female Peking & 1 Peking drake.
    They all get along though and as I stated i of the hens is laying so why wouldn't the other 2? also not only are they not laying but I have yet to receive my 1st egg off them!

Really would love some explanation, tried the golf ball trick, is it possible that some chickens just don't lay eggs?

also to be honest the duck are not really laying either...

Thanks for any help pete.

2. jonsccm

jonsccm Chillin' With My Peeps

I have 3 and the first one started laying last week at 30 and 1/2 weeks. The others are still not yet.... I have no idea why. They were about to be meat birds until the one started laying so she bought the others a few weeks.
    They are bound to lay sometime. I've never seen a hen that never lays

3. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop